Skip Navigation
City Government

Affiliated Boards & Commissions



Lakehead Region Conservation Authority

The Lakehead Region Conservation Authority is a community-based environmental agency responsible for the wise management of renewable natural resources in our watershed. Policy and budgetary decisions are made by a Board comprised of 11 members appointed by municipal partners including the City.

Thunder Bay Community Economic Development Commission                            

The Thunder Bay Community Economic Development Commission (CEDC) is responsible for business development, business retention and expansion, entrepreneurial support, opportunity promotion, and collection and assessment of key business data. Incorporated in December 2006, CEDC is an arms-length Community Development Corporation, led by an independent board with core funding from the City of Thunder Bay. 

Parking Authority

The Parking Authority operates and maintains a one-thousand and six-hundred (1,600) on and off-street parking meter system, 15 surface parking lots and two parking garages complete with automated revenue collection systems. It also administers parking enforcement services throughout the City, including the downtown cores and residential areas.

The Parking Authority promotes reasonable motorist compliance to a variety of parking restrictions established for traffic safety, traffic flow, street maintenance, parking turnover and residential convenience reasons.

Thunder Bay Community Auditorium

The Thunder Bay Community Auditorium is an impressive 1,500 seat multi-use performing arts centre. Considered one of the finest concert halls in North America, the auditorium’s acoustics are truly exceptional. The Auditorium maintains state-of-the-art sound, lighting and theatre systems equipment to fulfill the range of requirements of local presenters and large touring companies.

Thunder Bay District Health Unit Board of Health

The Thunder Bay District Health Unit Board of Health is the governing body and policy maker for the Thunder Bay District Health Unit. The Board includes 12 municipal members in addition to three positions appointed by the Lieutenant Governor.

The District of Thunder Bay Social Services Administration Board

The District of Thunder Bay Social Services Administration Board (TBDSSAB) oversees the District of Thunder Bay Social Services Department as it administers the mandatory services of Children's Services, Ontario Works and Housing Services. The board consists of 12 members who are elected officials from Thunder Bay and communities in the District.

Thunder Bay Police Services

The Thunder Bay Police Service is committed to working in partnership with the public to serve and protect the communities we serve in a sensitive, efficient and effective manner.

The Thunder Bay Police provide legislated core policing services including emergency response, investigation, apprehension, prevention, victim services and community policing. In keeping with the mandate of the Police Services Act and related policing standards the Thunder Bay Police work towards achieving compliance and improved program efficiencies. In particular, they maintain the current commitment to neighbourhood policing which is designed to sponsor greater citizen involvement in both the identification and resolution of neighbourhood and downtown core problems. 

Thunder Bay Hydro Corporation Board and Thunder Bay Hydro Electricity Distribution Inc. Board

The Thunder Bay Hydro Board consists of five members appointed by City Council including two Councillors. The local distribution company is owned by the City of Thunder Bay.

Thunder Bay Public Library

The Thunder Bay Public Library strengthens our community by engaging people in the pursuit of local and global information and knowledge, and promoting literacy, lifelong learning and leisure. The vision for the community as outlined in the Thunder Bay Public Library 2006-2008 Strategic Plan is: a citizen enlightened, a community engaged, a city enriched. 

TBayTel Municipal Service Board

The City of Thunder Bay City Council established the TBayTel Municipal Service Board on June 29, 2004 through a by-law, under the authority of the Municipal Act, 2001. The Board provides additional governance and business counsel to the TBayTel Executive and City Council as TBayTel continues its transformation to a full services communications company.

Victoriaville Board of Management

The operation of Victoriaville Centre includes maintaining and generating new lease agreements for the rental area of the pedestrian promenade. Maintenance of the centre is also included in this area.