Skip Navigation
City Government

First Nations

Fort William First Nation

Fort William First Nation has an extensive website featuring its services, history and maps. The Fort William Reserve was created in 1853 as a condition of the Robertson Superior Treaty.

Nishnawbe Aski Nation

NAN, with its head office in Thunder Bay, is an Aboriginal political organization representing 49 First Nation communities within James Bay Treaty 9 territory and the Ontario portions of Treaty 5.

Union of Ontario Indians

The Anishinabek Nation website includes the Union of Ontario Indians homepage. The Union of Ontario Indians is an advocate and secretariat representing 42 Anishinabek First Nations in the Canadian province of Ontario.

Assembly of First Nations

The Assembly of First Nations is a body of First Nations leaders who protect the rights, treaty obligations, and claims of citizens of the First Nations in Canada.

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada has primary, but not exclusive, responsibility for meeting the federal government’s constitutional, treaty, political and legal responsibilities to First Nations, Inuit and Northerners.