Skip Navigation
City Government

City Delegation Heads to Association of Municipalities Conference

August 16, 2013 – The City of Thunder Bay has secured several meetings with Provincial Ministers during the annual Association of Ontario Municipalities (AMO) conference in Ottawa next week.

A five-member delegation from the City of Thunder Bay including Councillors Joe Virdiramo, Chair – Inter-Governmental Affairs Committee, Brian McKinnon, Vice Chair – Inter-Governmental Affairs Committee, and Ken Boshcoff along with City Manager Tim Commisso and Laury Alexander, Policy Researcher, will be in attendance.

“The AMO conference is an invaluable opportunity for municipalities like Thunder Bay,” said Councillor Joe Virdiramo – Chair, Inter-Governmental Affairs Committee. “We will have the chance to speak directly to Provincial Ministers about high priority issues of importance to Thunder Bay and its citizens. This year, in fact, we were granted every meeting we requested, which is rare and critical opportunity for us. It speaks to Thunder Bay’s strong reputation within our Provincial Government.”

  • During the three-day conference, the delegation will meet with:
  • Minister of Aboriginal Affairs David Zimmer
  • Minister of Economic Development Trade & Employment Eric Hoskins
  • Minister of Energy Bob Chiarelli
  • Minister of Infrastructure & Transportation Glen Murray
  • Minister of Labour Yasir Naqvi
  • Minister of Municipal Affairs & Housing Linda Jeffrey
  • Minister of Northern Development & Mines Michael Gravelle
  • Minister of Tourism Michael Chan
  • Minister of Health & Long-Term Care Deb Matthews, and
  • Progressive Conservative Leader Tim Hudak

Priority topics for the Thunder Bay delegation include the implementation of the Advantage Northwest Mining Readiness Strategy, the Golf Links-Junot Corridor, Phase Three of the proposed Thunder Bay Event Centre, and the future of the Thunder Bay Generating Station.

The delegation will depart for Ottawa on the weekend. They’ll attend a joint meeting of the Mayors and Regional Chairs of Ontario (MARCO) and Large Urban Mayors Caucus of Ontario (LUMCO) on Sunday afternoon, followed by the AMO conference, which runs until Tuesday.

- 30 -

Contact: Councillor Joe Virdiramo, Chair – Inter-governmental Affairs Committee, 625-5547