Skip Navigation
City Government

Crime Prevention Council Comes Together and Gets to Work

Event date: Friday, December 17, 2010, from 3:12 PM to 3:12 PM

December 17, 2010 – The Thunder Bay Crime Prevention Council held its Inaugural Meeting last evening which brought together more than 25 agencies to begin engaging the community in the task of preventing crime, increasing safety and fostering the well-being of everyone in Thunder Bay. The community-based, evidence-driven Council approved its Interim Terms of Reference and elected Wendy Landry as Chair and Jon DeFaveri as Acting Chair.

Ms. Landry is President of the Thunder Bay Council of the Métis Nation and has 22 years experience in the Corrections field, including Youth Justice and Restorative Justice. She is also an instructor with the Police Foundations, Protection-Security and Investigation Program at Confederation College.

John DeFaveri is the Director of Education for the Thunder Bay Catholic District School Board and has 31 years experience in education and administration. He has served as Superintendent of both the York Region Roman Catholic School Board and Simcoe Muskoka Catholic District School Board.

Two citizen members, Linda Bruins and Michelle Woods, and two youth members, Kim Baskin and Gurleen Chahal, were selected following an application process this fall. Mayor Keith Hobbs (Ex-Officio) and Councillors Trevor Giertuga and Aldo Ruberto represent City Council on the Crime Prevention Council.

Several sectors are represented on the Council including representatives from the following agencies:

  • Beendigan Inc.
  • Children's Centre Thunder Bay
  • City of Thunder Bay Recreation & Culture
  • Conseil Scolaire de District Catholique des Aurores Boréales
  • Dennis Franklin Cromarty School
  • Dilico
  • District of Thunder Bay Social Services Administration Board
  • Downtown Business Zones
  • Fort William First Nation
  • Indian Friendship Centre
  • John Howard Society
  • Lakehead District Public School Board
  • Lakehead Social Planning Council
  • Nishnawbe Aski Nation
  • Nishnawbe Aski Police
  • Ontario Provincial Police
  • Ontario Union of Indians
  • St. Joseph’s Care Group
  • Thunder Bay Catholic District School Board
  • Thunder Bay Chamber of Commerce
  • Thunder Bay Council of the Métis Nation of Ontario
  • Thunder Bay Counselling Centre
  • Thunder Bay District Health Unit
  • Thunder Bay Drug Strategy
  • Thunder Bay Police Service
  • Thunder Bay Sexual Assault Centre

The Council’s next meeting will be in late January. One of the first orders of business is conducting a crime and disorder audit to identify community problems and develop a comprehensive community Safety and Crime Prevention Plan to be implemented for the City of Thunder Bay.

- 30 -

Contact:  Dr. Amy Siciliano, Thunder Bay Crime Prevention Council Coordinator, 625-2554 or

               Wendy Landry, Chair – Thunder Bay Crime Prevention Council, 626-6686