Skip Navigation
City Government

Energy Task Force to Meet with New Minister of Energy

February 27, 2013 – The Common Voice Northwest Energy Task Force will be meeting with officials of the Ontario Power Authority (OPA), the Independent Electrical System Operator and the Ministry of Energy in Toronto on Thursday, Feb. 28. 

The meeting is a direct follow up to the meeting held between the Energy Task Force, City of Thunder Bay, Northwestern Ontario Municipal Association and the Fort William First Nation and the OPA and the Minister of Energy in Thunder Bay on Jan. 2013. The Task Force will be joined by representatives of the City, Community Economic Development Commission (CEDC), the Ontario Mining Association and The Society of Energy Professionals which represents some workers at the Thunder Bay Generating Station.

On the afternoon of Feb. 28, the delegation will meet with the new provincial Minister of Energy, the Honourable Bob Chiarelli. This meeting follows separate sessions held earlier this week by NOMA and the City with the Minister. A key aspect of Thursday’s session will be to ensure that the Minister understands the needs of Northwestern Ontario and the public policy issues facing his government.

“The purpose of the meeting is to review the areas of difference in the electricity supply and loads, particularly mining, for Northwestern Ontario and to work towards a possible agreement on the planning inputs for the Northwestern Ontario Electrical System,” said Councillor Iain Angus, Co-Chair of the Energy Task Force. “There will be particular focus on the need to retain the Thunder Bay Generating Station.”

The delegation consists of the following:

  • Energy Task Force Members; Councillor Iain Angus, retired Ontario Hydro operating officer, Rod Bosch, Dorion Reeve Dave Harris, O’Connor Councillor Jim Vezina and Red Lake EDO Bill Greenway
  • City of Thunder Bay; Tim Commisso, City Manager, John Mason, CEDC Project Manager, Mining Services
  • Ontario Mining Association; Cheryl Brownlee, Manager Stakeholder Relations (Energy)
  • The Society of Energy Professionals; Scott Travers; President,

Councillor Angus will report to the Thunder Bay District Municipal League meeting on March 1 at 3:45 pm at the Prince Arthur Hotel and Conference Centre on the results of the two meetings.

- 30 -

Contact: Councillor Iain Angus, Co-Chair – Energy Task Force,