Skip Navigation
City Government

Local Municipal Official Elected to AMO

Toronto, ON, August 20, 2010 – At the Annual Conference of the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO), Lynn Peterson, Mayor, City of Thunder Bay, was elected to the AMO Board of Directors.  As a member of the Board and the Large Urban Caucus, Lynn will help set policy for the Association and serve as a key municipal leader in the Province.

“AMO’s Board of Directors benefits from membership from across the Province, reflecting the diversity of Ontario’s municipal governments.  To that end, I am pleased to have Lynn on the 2010-2012 Board team,” said AMO President, Norman Sandberg.  “The Board will continue its efforts to see properly funded municipal governments.”

AMO’s key advocacy priorities are focused on achieving fiscal sustainability for municipal governments, advancing federal, provincial partnerships for infrastructure and strengthening municipal legislative authority to advance local economic prosperity and environmental sustainability.  

AMO is a non-profit organization representing almost all of Ontario’s 445 municipal governments.  AMO supports and enhances strong and effective municipal government in Ontario and promotes the value of municipal government as a vital and essential component of Ontario and Canada’s political system.

- 30 -


Pat Vanini, AMO Executive Director 416-971-9856, ext. 316 or (416) 729-4394
Brian Lambie, AMO Media Contact, 416-729-5425