Skip Navigation
City Government

Mayor Re-elected to AMO Board

August 27, 2008 – The City of Thunder Bay is pleased to announce that Mayor Lynn Peterson has been re-elected to the 2008-2009 Board of Directors of the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) at its annual conference in Ottawa. The Mayor was elected Chair of the Large Urban Caucus.

"I am pleased to be able to continue bringing the voice of a large urban northern community to the table as AMO works with the government as it develops policies that affect all municipalities," said Mayor Lynn Peterson.

Nine candidates from across the Province were vying for five positions on the Large Urban Caucus; Mayor Peterson is the only representative from the northwest to be elected.

AMO is a non-profit organization representing almost all of Ontario's 445 municipal governments. The mandate of the organization is to support and enhance strong and effective municipal government in Ontario. It promotes the value of the municipal level of government as a vital and essential component of Ontario's and Canada's political systems.

- 30 -

Contact: Mayor Lynn Peterson, 807-628-5316.