Skip Navigation
City Government

2006-05-10 - Waterfront Development Committee Gets to Work

May 10, 2006 – The newly formed Waterfront Development Committee including five Citizen Members appointed by Council was introduced to the community today before the committee held its first meeting. Waterfront development will commence with the first priority highlighted as Marina Park followed by a plan for the entire 52 kilometers of Thunder Bay’s waterfront.

The City of Thunder Bay’s New Foundation – Living Strategic Plan calls for the need to stabilize, diversify and grow our local economy. The new Waterfront Development Committee will play a vital role in accomplishing this goal by providing new vision and a varied range of expertise to guide Thunder Bay’s development of the waterfront which will broaden the range of uses for citizens and visitors.

“Waterfront Development is becoming a reality and we will be starting this year at Marina Park,” said Councillor Mark Bentz, Chair of the Waterfront Development Committee.

Following a thorough selection process, Council appointed the following citizens to the Committee:

  • Donna Gilhooly
  • Cameron Clark
  • Scott Chisholm
  • Brian Babcock
  • Patrick Morash

The newly appointed Committee members have strong experience in a wide range of business areas from legal expertise to community engagement.

“The Committee was very impressed with the quantity and caliber of the citizen applicants which demonstrates the importance of Waterfront Development to our community,” said Councillor Bentz.Committee Members were introduced by Councillor Bentz and also include Mayor Lynn Peterson, Councillors Rebecca Johnson, Bill Scollie, Lawrence Timko, Joe Virdiramo and members of City Administration including: CAO Bob Petrie, City Clerk John Hannam, Greg Alexander, General Manager of Community Services, Mark Smith, General Manager of Development, Pat Mauro, Manager of Engineering and Paul Fayrick, Parks Planning Coordinator.

“With the Waterfront Development Committee in place, Thunder Bay is positioned to develop the waterfront lands in a way that is deliberate, vigorous and responsive to the needs of the community,” said Councillor Bentz.

– 30 –

Contact: Mark Bentz, Chair, Waterfront Development Committee, 577-8226