Skip Navigation
City Government

Profile - Councillor Ken Boshcoff

Councillor Ken Boshcoff

Councillor Ken Boshcoff
At Large

500 Donald St. E. 
Thunder Bay, ON P7E 5V3

Res:    (807) 473-8228

Ken Boshcoff, Councillor at Large, was born, raised, and educated in Thunder Bay.

He attended local schools until graduating from Lakehead University in Politics and Economics. He then received a Master’s Degree from York in Environmental Planning. His career spanned work in Municipal, Provincial, and Federal governments, and he also owned Boshcoff Insurance Services with his brother. He also served as the Director of Marketing for the Port Authority. He is currently employed as an Economic and Environmental Consultant.

Councillor Boshcoff has served 20 years as a City Councillor, six years as Mayor, and was President of three major municipal organizations. In addition, he served four and a half years as the Federal Member of Parliament for Thunder Bay – Rainy River.

During his careers, Councillor Boshcoff helped bring in a Medical School, a new Regional Hospital, and a new water treatment plant. He started Crimestoppers, Neighbourhood Watch, and 9-1-1. As Mayor, he helped form the world’s first Martial Arts Council. He visited every civic place of business in a process called Walkabouts, and also instituted an open door policy for citizens.

He believes an elected representative must be approachable, accessible, and accountable.

His goal for Thunder Bay is to make it Canada’s Most Liveable City. Councillor Boshcoff wants an inclusive, welcoming, safe, clean, green, and prosperous community. He believes that we are very fortunate to live in such a great region!

He has, and continues to serve on dozens of charitable, service, community, and environmental boards, groups, and organizations as either Chairman, Member, or Volunteer.

Current Committees & Boards:

  • Mills Assessment Working Group
  • Inter-Governmental Affairs Committee
  • Canadian Lakehead Exhibition
  • City of Thunder Bay Audit Committee
  • Lakehead Region Conservation Authority
  • Thunder Bay Parking Authority
  • Appeals Committee - Community & Cultural Funding
  • Superior North EMS Governance Committee
  • Vice Chair for Committee of the Whole Administrative Services
  • Waterfront District BIA
  • Council Co-ordinating Committee
  • Audit Review Committee