Skip Navigation


A number of individuals and organizations participate as members and partners of the Crime Prevention Council.

Members and Partners of the Crime Prevention Council 

Membership – effective June 6, 2016

The Crime Prevention Council is a unique partnership between citizens, community organizations and service providers, totaling 43 members.

Ex-Officio Members (one vote per person):

Chief of Police (or designate)
Detachment Commander Ontario Provincial Police - Northwest Region (or designate)
Chief - Fort William First Nation (or designate)
Deputy Grand Chief - Nishnawbe Aski Nation (or designate)
Métis Nation of Ontario (designate)
Ontario Union of Indians (designate)
Medical Officer of Health (or designate)
Crown Attorney (or designate)
Selection process: Each has a seat by virtue of their position.

City Councillors (one vote per person):
Selection process: Through City Council’s Appointment Process.

Community Representatives (one vote per person):

Citizen Representatives (2)
Youth Representatives (2)
Selection process: Through City Council’s Appointment Process.

Sectors (one vote per organization): 
Aboriginal Community:
Matawa First Nation
Nishnawbe-Aski Police Service
Ontario Native Women’s Association
Thunder Bay Indian Friendship Centre
Urban Aboriginal Advisory Committee
Lakehead District School Board
Thunder Bay Catholic District School Board
Northern Nishnawbe Education Council
Conseil Scolaire De District Catholique Des Aurores Boréales
Youth Services:
Recreation and Culture Division
Older Adult Services:
Age Friendly Thunder Bay
Emergency Housing:
Shelter House
William W. Creighton Youth Services
Kairos Community Resource Centre
John Howard Society
Elizabeth Fry Society
Thunder Bay Parole Office (Correctional Service of Canada)
Child Protection:
Dilico Anishinabek Family Care
Children’s Aid Society of the District of Thunder Bay
Chamber of Commerce
BIAs and Business Areas of Thunder Bay
Mental Health & Addictions:
Children’s Centre Thunder Bay
St. Joseph’s Care Group
Thunder Bay Drug Strategy
Community Social Planning:
Lakehead Social Planning Council
Victim Services:
Thunder Bay Sexual Assault Centre
Thunder Bay Counselling Centre
Violence Against Women:
Thunder Bay and District Coordinating Committee to End Woman Abuse
Safety & Crime Prevention Initiatives:
Crime Stoppers

Selection process for Sectors: By invitation