Skip Navigation

Police Services Board

policeservThe role of the Board is to oversee the provision of Police Services in the City of Thunder Bay and on a contract basis to Oliver Paipoonge. The Board is the civilian trustee of the public interest as it pertains to police services in the community. The Board is made up of five members (three municipal and two provincial appointees) plus a Board secretary. 

The Board's mandate is legislated by the Ontario Police Services Act and can be summarized as general management and setting of policing policy. The Chief is responsible for daily policing and other operational matters. Generally, the Board's role in shaping the structure of policing is very broad, limited by legislation only in the realm of daily operations. 

c/o Secretary-Thunder Bay Police Services Board
Office of the City Clerk
500 Donald St. E., 3rd Floor City Hall
Thunder Bay, ON
P7E 5V3 
(807) 625-2238