Skip Navigation
 
Living

Dr. Dewar's Restaurant

121 McKellar Street
Constructed: 1907
Architect: J.E. Rutledge

Built in 1907 for owner Thomas P. Kelley, a local merchant, the house was later sold to Dr. R. Kerr Dewar who had fought in the First World War, returned home to study medicine and purchased this home in 1920. The first floor was converted into a medical clinic in 1928. The building is a good example of a popular building style called Edwardian Classicism. It has many unique architectural features including metal cresting on the top of the hip roofline and on one of the dormer windows. The first and second floors feature distinctive Palladian windows with prominent keystones. On the front facade, the centrally placed wood-covered porch is supported by brick piers rather than classical stone columns. The portico is balanced by bay windows on both sides. Although various additions have been made to the building over the years, it retains many original features such as the ceilings and the stained glass windows. The building is currently being used as a restaurant.

Dr. Dewar's Restaurant