The Thunder Bay Community Economic Development Commission (CEDC) is governed by an independent Board of Directors. The members serve for a four-year term. The Commissioners receive formal proposals on projects that will contribute to economic development. They are empowered to respond quickly to new opportunities, enabling the undertaking of new initiatives, and attracting direct financial involvement from other levels of government and/or the private sector.

Members of the board: 

Craig Urquhart (Chair)Picture of Craig Urquhart

Craig is the President and owner of Intercity Industrial Supply. Craig is a Past Chair of the Thunder Bay Chamber of   
Commerce and a Past Chair for Canada's Mississauga based Independent Distributors Inc. group. He currently serves on
the Board of Directors for Thunder Bay International Airport Authority. Craig brings a strong business background to the
CEDC Board of Directors.

Peter Marchl (Vice Chair)Picrture of Peter Marchl

Peter brings an established background in finance, solid business and entrepreneurial sense, and years of experience in volunteering and community engagement to the CEDC Board of Directors. Peter is an investment advisor and partner at Normaxx Financial. He is also the Past Presient for SHIFT Thunder Bay's Young Professionals Network and is an active member of both the Thunder Bay Chamber of Commerce and the Port Arthur Rotary Club. He also sits on the City of Thunder Bay Audit Committee and belongs to the Thunder Bay Yacht Club.

Barry Streib (Treasurer/Secretary)Picture of Barry Streib

Barry has worked extensively throughout his career in business management, marketing, sales, administration and 
communications. Currently Barry serves as a Board Director and Chair of the Governance Committee for the Thunder Bay 
Regional Health Sciences Foundation, and sits on the Executive Committee in the role of Secretary. In addition, he is a Past
Chair of the Thunder Bay Chamber of Commerce, and Past President of the Northwestern Ontario Associated Chambers of
Commerce (NOACC), and continues to serve as a Senior Advisor on its Executive Committee. Barry is also a Board 
Director of Common Voice Northwest.

Roberta SawchynPicrure of Roberta Sawchyn

Roberta is the General Manager of the Best Western PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre. She has been a leader in
the hospitality industry in Thunder Bay for over twenty years and currently sits on the Board for the Thunder Bay Chamber
of Commerce. She has also taught in the Hospitality Program at Confederation College. Roberta also volunteers in our 
community, most recently with the leaders of the United Way as well as Easter Seals.

George C Patterson Picture of George Patterson

George began his career in the private sector and, shortly thereafter, moved to the public sector as resident geologist for Thunder Bay. This was followed by employment with the Government of the Northwest Territories and the Government of Saskatchewan where he helped develop and implement government, academic and industry programs designed to coordinate, support and promote the mineral industry and local economic development. He has also worked on a number of initiatives dedicated to building strong relationships with Aboriginal people and their communities. 


Lauren RigatoLauren Rigato

As a seasoned executive and corporate director with over 20 years of marketing experience, Lauren Rigato, President & CEO of Superior Digital, is a passionate advocate for Thunder Bay and the surrounding area.  Her key mandate for Superior Digital is to help local organizations achieve their full potential.  In her most recent previous roles as Director, Digital Marketing and Sales with the Ottawa Senators NHL team and National Director of eBusiness at CAA, Lauren built and managed top-tier North American digital strategies that have been recognized by brands like Apple as the best in the country – valuable skills to leverage to further support the Thunder Bay community.

Council members 

Bill Mauro  Mayor Bill Mauro

Peng You  Councillor Peng You

Brian McKinnon  Councillor Brian McKinnon



Picrture of Mark Smith   Mark Smith - General Manager - Development & Emergency Services - City of Thunder Bay




Picture of Picture of Eric Zakrewski   Eric Zakrewski - Chief Executive Officer for CEDC

Ex-Officio defined

Ex-Officio Members of Boards and Committees:. Frequently boards and committees contain some members who are members by virtue of their office, and, therefore, are termed ex-officio members. When such a member ceases to hold the office his membership of the board terminates automatically.

Contact Us