

MEETING: Committee of the Whole

DATE: September 29, 2020

Reference No. 47/51

CLOSED SESSION in the S. H. Blake Memorial Auditorium at 5:30 p.m.

Committee of the Whole - Closed Session Chair: Councillor T. Giertuga

PRESENT:	OFFICIALS:
Mayor B. Mauro Councillor Peng You	Ms. K. Power, City Clerk
ELECTRONIC PARTICIPATION:	OFFICIALS - ELECTRONIC PARTICIPATION:
Councillor A. Aiello Councillor S. Ch'ng Councillor A. Foulds Councillor T. Giertuga Councillor B. Hamilton Councillor R. Johnson Councillor B. McKinnon Councillor K. Oliver Councillor A. Ruberto	 Ms. L. Evans, General Manager – Corporate Services & Long Term Care & City Treasurer Ms. M. Panizza, Director Human Resources & Corporate Safety Ms. T. O'Neill, Manager – Labour Relations Mr. M. Smith, General Manager – Development & Emergency Services Ms. L. McEachern, Director – Planning Services Ms. C. Cline, Deputy City Solicitor Mr. M. Grimaldi, Solicitor

DISCLOSURES OF INTEREST

Councillor A. Aiello disclosed an interest relative to the Labour Relations Matter as a family member is an employee of the City of Thunder Bay.

Councillor A. Aiello left the meeting.

REPORTS OF MUNICIPAL OFFICERS

Labour Relations Matter

Ms. M. Panizza, Director Human Resources & Corporate Safety and Ms. T. O'Neill, Manager – Labour Relations entered the meeting.

Report No. 2020CLS.043 (Human Resources & Corporate Safety) relative to the above noted was distributed to City Council, City Manager and the City Solicitor only.

Ms. T. O'Neill, Manager – Labour Relations responded to questions.

Ms. M. Panizza, Director Human Resources & Corporate Safety and Ms. T. O'Neill, Manager – Labour Relations left the meeting.

Property Related Matter

Mr. M. Smith, General Manager – Development & Emergency Services, Ms. L. McEachern, Director – Planning Services and Mr. M. Grimaldi, Solicitor entered the meeting.

Councillor A. Aiello entered the meeting.

Mr. M. Smith, General Manager – Development & Emergency Services provided an overview relative to the above noted and responded to questions.

Ms. L. McEachern, Director – Planning Services responded to questions.

Committee of the Whole Recess

At 6:20 p.m. the Closed Session concluded. It was the consensus of Committee that Open Session reconvene at 6:30 p.m.

OPEN SESSION in S.H. Blake Memorial Auditorium at 6:35 p.m.

Committee of the Whole - Special Session (Citizens of Exceptional Achievement) Chair: Mayor B. Mauro

PRESENT:	OFFICIALS:
Mayor B. Mauro	Ms. D. Earle, Deputy City Clerk
Councillor Peng You	Ms. K. Piche, Committee Coordinator

ELECTRONIC PARTICIPATION:

OFFICIALS - ELECTRONIC PARTICIPATION:

Councillor A. Aiello Councillor S. Ch'ng Councillor A. Foulds Councillor B. Hamilton Councillor R. Johnson Councillor B. McKinnon Councillor K. Oliver Mr. N. Gale, City Manager

DISCLOSURES OF INTEREST

CONFIRMATION OF AGENDA

Confirmation of Agenda - September 29, 2020 - Committee of the Whole - Special Session (Citizens of Exceptional Achievement)

MOVED BY:	Councillor Peng You
SECONDED BY:	Councillor Albert Aiello

With respect to the September 29, 2020 Committee of the Whole (Special Session) meeting, we recommend that the agenda as printed, including any additional information and new business, be confirmed.

CARRIED

PRESENTATIONS

Official Recognition Committee - Citizens of Exceptional Achievement

Mayor B. Mauro and the Members of City Council presented the 44th Annual Citizens of Exceptional Achievement Awards in accordance with the Official Recognition Program.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this year's event was held virtually. Award winners were able to view the ceremony on Shaw TV Cable 10, Tbaytel TV on Channel 110 and on the City of Thunder Bay website.

Members of the Official Recognition Committee including Ms. Loretta Turpin - Chair, Ms. Ollie Sawchuk, Ms. Kathy Gibson, Ms. Allison Hill and Mr. John Garland along with Members of Council presented the following awards:

Youth Award Recipients

Juliet Elliott, Taylor Anne Gorrie, Quinn Leschuk, Evan Owen, Paige Parry, Jamie Pauluzzo-Thom, Cameron Picard, Ebban Pudden, Daytona Shaffer, Harasees Singh, and Marcel Bradly Smith.

Good Citizen Award Recipients

Age Friendly Thunder Bay, Ashten Allison, Joseph Bechta, Erin Black, Marilyn Bottan, Sharon Bukovy, Kai Crites, Doug Dixon, Empty Bowls Caring Hearts, Helping Hands Auxiliary to Pioneer Ridge, Eric Hibbert, Linda Horan, Pat Hudon, Steve Jobbitt, Bernie Knibbs, Heidi Kruger, Ellen Lang, Marjaana Martikainen, James Matijasic, Tara O'Brien, Wally Peterson, Katherine Poulin, The Road Worn Chaps, Kyle Shaen, Reta Stoger, Tarbutt Street Soccer, and Courtney Wall.

Spirit of Thunder Bay Award Recipients

Sonja Aldrich, Bruce & Marian Childs, Carol, Brent & Carter Cline, Joan Krisko, Lynda Lahteenmaa, Stephen A. Peters, and Kathryn Marie Vance.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 7:33 p.m.