In 1980, Thunder Bay Transit began participating in the Transit Roadeo. The Safety and Training Section of the Public Transportation Department sponsored the program as part of its continuing efforts to promote interest in safety among the Operators. The event and results were designed to measure an operator’s competence under actual every day conditions. After competing in the local contest, operators had the chance to go on to the National competition. Transit driver, Gerald LaForge placed first in the local competition for the first four years from 1980 to 1983. He went onto the National competition and placed 4th, 1st, 4th, and 11th respectively. Other winners in later years include George Ioannidis, Gerald LaForge again and Terry Berube.

Safety Awards Gallery

Transit Roadeo Photograph Gallery

Transit Roadeo Rules and Obstacles

Contact Us